Scott Brownrigg wins BCO Corporate Workplace Award


Scott Brownrigg is proud to have won this year’s British Council for Offices (BCO) Awards in the Corporate Workplace, South of England and South Wales category for Tamesis in Egham.

The building which was designed by Scott Brownrigg’s architectural team was pre-let to a world leading research and advisory company for their European Headquarters. Scott Brownrigg’s interior design team was responsible for the fit out. The £35m Tamesis 1 building at the Glanty building is a five-storey building on a restricted and previously under-utilised site. The new 107,500 sq ft building replaces an outdated 40,000 sq ft 1980’s office, with a modern, efficient and highly flexible commercial building that will lead the way for further development within the area.

Tamesis was praised by the judges for its elegant delivery of large floorplates, despite its location within a difficult site constrained both in terms of land area and by its position in Flood Zone 3. The judges felt that the development met its stated objective of creating a “stand out” building for Egham – in addition to being very much shaped to the needs of its’ occupier. They stated "not only does the design reflect the Gartner brand but it provides a spur for the firm’s recruitment of talented people".

The interior is designed to increase opportunities for collaboration by locating shared facilities in high traffic areas. The central atrium provides horizontal and vertical meeting places with the core services located on the ground and top floor. This hub and spoke approach to the building design creates excellent opportunities for serendipitous meetings.

The BCO Awards are widely respected within the commercial property sector as they display the strength of British office design and illustrate a combination of excellence from the clarity of purpose in the brief; ingenuity of product; clever design solutions where appropriate; and delivery on time and within budget.

Winners of the the National BCO Awards will be presented at the National Awards Dinner, 2 October 2018.